Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Australia 20 cents 2013 - Parliament House

New commemorative:

"25th Anniversary of Australian Parliament House"

Opened in 1988 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Australian Parliament House was designed by architect firm Mitchell, Giurgola & Thorp whose winning design was selected from a field of 329 entries from 28 different countries.

Australian Parliament House was built into Capital Hill and not on top of it, symbolically placing parliament on the same level as the people it serves. Designed to last 200 years, this magnificent structure incorporates motifs signifying Australia's ancient beginnings, Indigenous culture, European settlement, pastoral development and bright future.

Picture of the building:

Composition: CuNi
Weight: 11.30 g
Diameter: 28.52 mm
Edge: plain
Designer: T. Dean

(information from Peter Kaminsky)

LINK: Royal Australian Mint

No comments:

Post a Comment