Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Sri Lanka 10 rupees 2013 - Districts series

New circulating commemoratives:

The Central Bank of Sri Lanka has issued a series of 25 coins of 10 ruppees celebrating each of the 25 districts of Sri Lanka in the 9 provinces. The coins have been minted by the Slovak Kremnica Mint.

Northern Province: Jaffna, Kilinochchi, Mannar, Mullaitivu, Vavuniya

North Western Province: Puttalam, Kurunegala
Western Province: Gampaha, Colombo, Kalutara

North Central Province: Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa
Central Province: Matale, Kandy, Nuwara Eliya

Sabaragamuwa Province: Kegalle, Ratnapura
Eastern Province: Trincomalee, Batticaloa, Ampara

Uva Province: Badulla, Monaragala
Southern Province: Hambantota, Matara, Galle

(news from Shamik Biswas, Pabitra Saha and Dilminidu Samarasekara)
(images from Dr Kavan Ratnatunga at his great site


  1. Do you know the KM# for each of the coins? Please, write to, thanks Chino